Tokyo New York (LP Vinyl)

Tokyo New York (LP Vinyl)

Product Description

Originally released in 1973. Vodka Collins were a Tokyo based band, featuring singer/guitarist Alan Merrill (son of jazz singer Helen Merrill and writer of 'I Love Rock 'n' Roll)), drummer Hiroshi Oguchi (of Group Sounds band, Tempters) singer/guitarist Hiroshi 'Monsieur' Kamayatsu (of another legendary GS band, The Spiders) and bassist Take Yokouchi (of Four Leaves). Alan Merrill wrote most of the songs. They released this album in 1973, afterwhich they disappeared until releasing three albums in the 1990s. This album has a place in Japanese music history as the first glam rock album, with echoes of David Bowie or T-Rex. Merrill sings in fluent Japanese. Vodka Collins were the opening act for Jackson 5 when they first played in Tokyo.

1. Automatic Pilot
2. Billy Mars
3. Terminal City
4. Sands of Time
5. Pontiac Pan
6. Diamond to Dungarees
7. Monitor
8. Vacuum Girl
9. Scratchin'