Okinawa Symphony Yearbook

Okinawa Symphony Yearbook

Product Description

First album by Ryukyu Symphony Orchestra for 15 years. The RSO were founded in 2001, the first professional orchestra in Okinawa, comprised mainly of graduates from the Okinawa Prefectural University of the Arts. A newly composed symphonic suite that conveys the seasons and festivities of Okinawa, and features traditional Okinawan instruments inlcuding sanba and shima daiko drum and several Okinawan traditional tunes woven into the compostions. The conductor is Naoto Otomo, born in 1958, who studied under Seiji Ozawa, Andre Previn and others, is a regular conductor of the Japan Phillharmonic Orchestra, resident conductor of Tokyo Symphony Orchestra and musical director of Ryukyu Symphony Orchestra. The composer Hideaki Haginomori, born in 1981, graduated from the Tokyo University of the Arts, and has had his works performed by Tokyo Symphony Orchestra and other orchestras, and has written compositions for many TV shows.
1. First Movement - New Year
2. Second Movement - Spring
3. Third Movement - Summer
4. Fourth Movement - Autumn
5. Fifth Movement - Winter