Kabuki-Za Sayonara Koen Vol. 1 (12 DVDs with English subitltes plus 152 page book with some English )

Kabuki-Za Sayonara Koen Vol. 1 (12 DVDs with English subitltes plus 152 page book with some English )

Product Description

DVD Book set that includes 12 DVDs with English subtitles and 152 page book, predominantly Japanese but with some English. NTSC Region Code 2. The final curtain has come down on Kabuki-za, the iconic home of kabuki. The theatre in Ginza, Tokyo, will be demolished and a new 49 story tower will be built in its place with a new kabuki theatre on the lower floors, due to open in 2013. This is nothing new however, as Kabuki-za was originally built in 1889 and has been rebuilt a few times since. This latest version was built in 1950, the design evoking ancient castles and temples, an atmospheric oasis of tranquility amid modern skyscrapers. This theatre had firmly become the spiritual home of kabuki, but failed to meet earthquake safety standards so the owners reluctanly decided to rebuild it.
'Kabuki-za Sayanora Performances' took place for 16 months between January 2009 and April 2010. These will be released bi-monthly as DVD / book box sets until October 2011. Vol. 1 has 12 DVDs, the plays performed in January and February 2009, plus footage of two special ceremonies, the opening ceremony with all the actors, and the closing ceremony. Filmed with Hi-Vision cameras the DVDs come with English commentary,and English subtitles for some passages. The book has many rare photos, 40 colour and 112 black and white, its detailed information including the history of Kabuki-Za, an introduction to the source of the plays, play synopses, in English as well, and interviews.

'Kotobuki Shinshun Dai Kabuki'(January 2009)
1. Shuku Shinshun-shiki Sanbaso (Tomijuro Nakamura, Baigyoku Nakamura, Shoroku Onoe, Kikunosuke Onoe)
2. Heike Nyogojima - Shunkan (Koshiro Matsumoto, Baigyoku Nakamura)
3. Satomoyo Azami no Ironui (Kikugoro Onoe, Tokizo Nakamura, Kichiemon Nakamura)
4. Sagimusume (Tamasaburo Bando)

1. Kotobuki Soga no Taimen (Kichiemon Nakamura, Kikugoro Onoe, Koshiro Matsumoto)
2. Shin-Kabuki Juhachiban no Uchi - Shunkyo Kagamijishi (Kanzaburo Nakamura)
3. Iwashiuri Koi no Hikiami (Kanzaburo Nakamura, Tamasaburo Bando)

'Nigatsu Daikabuki' (February 2009)
1. Sugawara Denju Tenarai Kagami - Kamozutsumi, Ga no Iwai (Sadanji Ichikawa, Hashinosuke Nakamura, Fukusuke Nakamura, Somegoro Ichikawa, Shoroku Onoe)
2. Kyo Kanoko Musume Futari Dojoji - from Michiyuki to Kaneiri (Tamasaburo Bando, Kikunosuke Onoe)
3. Ninjo Banashi Bunshichi Mottoi (Kikugoro Onoe, Shikan Nakamura, Tokizo Nakamura, Kikunosuke Onoe, Kichiemon Ichikawa)

1. Yamatogana Ariwara Keizu - Ranpei Monogurui (Mitsugoro Bando, Shikan Nakamura, Fukusuke Nakamura, Hashinosuke Nakamura)
2. Kabuki Juhachiban no Uchi - Kanjincho (Kichiemon Ichikawa, Kikugoro Onoe, Baigyoku Nakamura)
3. Sannin Kichisa Tomoe no Shiranami - Ohkawa-bata Koshinzuka no Ba (Tamasaburo Bando, Shoroku Onoe, Somegoro Ichikawa)