Grand Espoir (x2 LP Vinyl)

Grand Espoir (x2 LP Vinyl)

Product Description

Compilation and mastering by Yoshinori Sunahara, that focuses on Yukihiro Takahashi's early 80s works. Audiophile vinyl. Analogue cutting, Bernie Grundman. Takahashi's career stretches back nearly 50 years to the Sadistic Mika Band in 1972, as a drummer, singer, composer and producer. In the early 1980s he established his identity as a solo artist, after gaining fame as a member of YMO. The albums that these tracks are taken from include Murdered by the Music, released in 1980, that featured Hosono, Sakamoto as well as Sandii, Sheena and Matsutake, and was sung entirely in English. Neuromantic from 1981 also featured Hosono and Sakamoto, alongside Phil Manzanera and Andy Mackay of Roxy Music. What? Me Worry? once again features Hosono and Sakamoto, but only on one track, alongside Bill Nelson. Tomorrow's Just Another Day came out in 1983, while Wild and Moody is from 1984 and features Bill Nelson. Art direction by Towa Tei, jacket artwork by Tomoo Gokita.

Side 1
1. School Of Thought (Murdered by the Music) 1980
2. Numbers From A Calculated Conversation (Murdered by the Music) 1980
3. Connection (Neuromantic) 1981
4. Grand Espoir (Neuromantic) 1981

Side 2
5. Drip Dry Eyes (Neuromantic) 1981
6. Curtains (Neuromantic) 1981
7. Sayonara (What, Me Worry?) 1982

Side 3
8. My Bright Tomorrow (Tomorrow's Just Another Day) 1983
9. Are You Receiving Me? (Remix) (Tomorrow's Just Another Day) 1983
10. And I Believe In You [Are You Receiving Me? (Single) 1983
11. Good Time (Tomorrow's Just Another Day)1983

Side 4
12. Stranger Things Have Happened [Wild & Moody] 1984
13. Kill That Thermostat [Wild & Moody] 1984
14. Walking To The Beat [Wild & Moody] 1984
15. Poisson D'Avril (Single) 1985